Albany Arena, November 13th-15th.


The south coastal city of Albany hosted the last arena trial of the year for WA.  


The trial is run in conjunction with the Albany show, and the bulk of the showground entertainment is right behind the casting peg. So dogs, sheep and handlers were bombarded with loud music and screaming patrons. This did not help in the handling of already difficult sheep. So there were not a lot of scores. The sheep were large and woolly and when they made a break for it they usually went over the top of the dog. The strong Albany winds did not help much either, blowing off hats and stirring the sheep up even more.


The weather was quite warm on the Friday and  Saturday but cooled off for the finals on Sunday, after a wild storm which rivaled the fireworks of the previous night and kept many people and dogs awake.



There were 48 entries in the novice with ten scores, 36 in the improver with 6 scores and  53 entries in the open with 26 scores.




Novice, judged by Sam Weaver.


1st. Jenny Whitelock. Coshies Charm. 74+52= 126.

2nd. Dave Lacey. MeMate Jack. 68+56=124.

3rd. Frank Sutherland. Pendaulup Sue. 85+rtd=85.

4th. Peter Gorman. Grassvallay Flick. 81+X=81.

5th. Nan Lloyd. Barkervale Oswin. 60+X=60. Kelpie.



Improver, judged by Neil Eastough.


1st. Simon Leaning. Chidlow Floss. 66+64=130.

2nd. Dave Lacey. Fleetwood Devil. 68+61=129.

3rd. Jane Dorrell. Rocky Dusty. 58+68=126.

4th. Colin Cosh. UHR Smokey. 67+30=97.

5th. Nick Webb. Morrillo Roy. 51+X=51.


Open, Judged by Glenice webb.


1st. Peter Gorman. Princes Sally. 70+84=154.

2nd. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Sky 66+77=143.

3rd. Dave Lacey. Fleetwood Devil. 64+73=137.

4th. Frank Sutherand. Pendalup Sue. 78+54=132.

5th. Peter Gorman. Badgingarra Gem. 83+48=131.

6th. Colin Cosh. Rosie. 60+57=117.

7th. Ken Atherton. Boylee Cass. 62+50=112.

8th. Simon Leaning. Chidlow Floss. 80+SCR=80.

9th. Nick Webb. Morillo Cinder. 79+RTD=79.

=10th. Nick Webb. Morillo Roy. 74+X=74.

=10th. Ken Atherton. Ramulam Punch. 74+LS=74. Kelpie

12th. Jane Dorrell. Cloverlea Cruiser. 67+RTD=67.



Winner of the novice dog aggregate was Frank Sutherland and Pendalup Sue.


Winner of the highest scoring dog in the first round of the open was Peter Gorman and Badgingarra Gem.


Winner of the Cocoachina trophy for the highest scoring novice handler in the Dog of the year was Tim Foster and Jandoree Sadie.


Dog of the Year was decided and won by Grant Cooke with Grassvalley Sky, second was Grant Cooke with Grassvally Moss and third was Ivan Solomon with Perengary Sasha.


Jane Dorrell's Cloverlea Cruiser, in a spot of bother.


Colin Cosh's Coshies Goldie.


Jenny Palm's Brindabella Domini.


The backdrop for the trial.


Doreen Hansen's Jandoree Harley.


Jenny Whitelock's Coshies Charm.


Frank Sutherland was given a re-run after one of his sheep got a line marker stuck on its foot.


Carolyns Bell's Bellview Bella.


Simon Leanings Marionvale Will.


Photos and Article by Nan Lloyd.



















Web Design Magicdust