Binnaburra Yard and Utility. July 3rd, 4th, 5th.


Binnaburra Yard and Utility trial is traditionally one of the coldest trials for the year. However this year it was very mild, with unusually warm sunny days and comfortable nights. Not good for the crops and pastures as it has been a very dry year.


Binnaburra is near Kellerberrin, approximately 200 Kms east of Perth.


A thick fog on Saturday morning delayed the start of the open utility for about 45 minutes.


The sheep, supplied by Rodney Forsyth, were very good mainly, but required some persuasion to get them into the yards at times. In the yards they worked well, but if hasselled or upset they had a tendency to pile in corners, circle, or jump out.






1st. Geordie Batt. Libby. Kelpie.



Novice yard, judged by Frank Sutherland.


1st. Andrew Gorton. Just Murray. 35+40=75. Kelpie.

2nd. Nigel Armstrong. Tumutvalley Jude. 36+38=74. Kelpie.

3rd. Tanya De Bijl. Tilly. 35+37=72. Kelpie.

4th. Tanya De Bijl. Marionavale Ita. 35+35=70. Kelpie.

5th. Hayden Harries. Olboa Knight. 35+31=66. BC.



Novice Utility, judged by Frank Sutherland.


1st. Gordon Curtis. Whites Joe. 92+81=173. Kelpie.

2nd. Nan Lloyd. Nukennellup Dodge. 65+59=124. Kelpie

3rd. Rick Janitz. Badgingarra Izzy.  61+61=122. BC

4th. Doreen Hansen. Jandoree Harley. 64+54=118. BC.

5th. Hayden Harries. Olboa Knight. 60+53=113. BC.



Open Yard, judged by Hayden Harries.


1st. Hayden Harries. Olboa Ben. 53.5+58=111.5. BC. (Judged by Ken Atherton and Nigel Armstrong.)

2nd. Andrew Gorton. Just Murray.54+53=107. Kelpie.

3rd. Nigel Armstrong. Tumutvalley Roy. 57+49=106. Kelpie.

=4th. Rick Janitz.. Jandoree Sparkey. 51+49=100. BC.

=4th. NIgel Armstrong. Yarralonga Fly. 52+48=100. Kelpie.

=6th. Nigel Armstrong. Yarralonga Splinter. 50+49=99. Kelpie

=6th. Tanya De Bijl. Marionvale Ita. 54+45=99. Kelpie.

8th. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Floss. 50+48=98. BC.

9th. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Moss. 52+43=95. BC.

10th. Ken Atherton. Ramulam Lad. 50+44=94. Kelpie.

11th. Gordon Curtis Binnaburra Ben. 53+39=92. Kelpie.

12th. Gordon Curtis. Binnaburra Sasha. 50+41=91. Kelpie.



Open Utility, judged by Hayden Harries.


1st. Ken Atherton. Ramulam Lad. 103+94=197. Kelpie.

2nd. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Moss. 106+86=192. BC.

3rd. Gordon Curtis. Binnaburra. Johnny. 90+101=191. Kelpie.

4th. Hayden Harries. Olboa Ben. 90.5+92=182.5. BC. (Judged by Ken Atherton and Nigel Armstrong.)

5th. Ken Atherton Ramulam Punch. 88+93=181. Kelpie.

6th. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Floss. 92+82=174. BC.

7th. Gordon Curtis. Binnaburra Jess. 72+90=162. Kelpie.

8th. Nigel Armstrong. Tumutvalley Roy. 99+59=158. Kelpie

9th. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Sky. 73+76=159. BC

10th. Gordon Curtis. Whites Joe. 63+77=140. Kelpie.

11th. Gordon Curtis. Binnaburra Ben. 66+73=139. Kelpie.

12th. Rick Janitz. Jandoree Sparky. 77+56=133. BC.


Shelby Harries Cagella Kinda.


Hayden Harries and Bellview Chloe, in the fog.



Tony Boyle and Boylee Burnie.


Ken Atherton and Ramulam Lad.


Binnaburra stadium.


Grant Cooke's Grassvalley Moss.


Nigel Armstrong's Yarralonga Splinter.


Andrew Gortons Just Murray.



Photos and article by Nan Lloyd










Web Design Magicdust