Mayanup Arena March 22nd to 24th.



Mayanup arena was the second trial for the year. It was held at Ken and Jenny Atherton’s picturesqe property Yallambee, south of Williams and about 146 kms south of Perth

A week of hot humid weather prior to the trial had everyone a bit concerned, but it cooled nicely for near perfect conditions for the event, despite a bit of wind which caused a few issues on and off.

The sheep were two year old Dohne’s and had a fair bit of run in them. The most difficult part of the trial was the pickup, as the sheep had a tendency to head for the fence as the dog approached, some leaping over in fine style, others running down it at top speed. The dogs really needed to head quickly to hold them.

However, they did not like dogs that wanted to grip them too tight, or moved too quickly, but they relaxed for the calmer smoother working types, that didn't over head. For some reason known only to themselves the sheep were much more difficult to handle on the Saturday but improved on the Sunday, although they were the same sheep from the same paddock.

The trial was run on a supreme course and the gap caused a few issues. The race not so much but the bridge was the most difficult obstacle, with many teams struggling here. The sheep would go into the mouth of the bridge and then turn on the dog. Trying to force them simply caused them to break over the dogs. 

There were not a lot of pens as many people ran out of time before they got there. However most people who made it that far did manage to get them in.

The Kelpies had a good trial, with six in the top ten novice, 6.5 in the top ten improver and three in the open.

In the novice there were 37 entries with 10 scores, the improver had 40 entries with 11 scores and the open had 63 entries with 25 scores.




All BCs unless otherwise stated.




1st. Anita De Montigny. Bellview Loxie. 

2nd. Blake Robinson. Ed. BC X Kelpie

3rd. Simon Wallace. Marionvale Pola. 


Novice, Judged by Jane Dorrell.


1st. Tony Boyle. Boylee Gus. 63.

2nd. Nigel Armstrong. Yarralonga Scope. 58. Kelpie.

3rd. Ivan Solomon. Perengery Fran. 52.

4th. Karyn Buller. Booninning Maisy. 50 Kelpie.

5th  Karyn Buller. Booninning Rosie. 41 Kelpie.

6th. Nan Lloyd. Kumbark Ace. 37. Kelpie.

7th. Rod Forsyth. Barkervale Austen. 35. Kelpie

=8th. Dave Lacey. Somerville Katie. 33

=8th. Helen Svalbe. Boonining Swag. 33. Kelpie

10th. Len Morton. Perengary Sadie. 31.



Improver, judged by Rick Janitz.


1st. Nigel Armstrong. Yarralonga Scope. 81+71=152. Kelpie.

2nd. Nan Lloyd. Kumbark Ace. 59+83=142. Kelpie.

3rd. Nigel Armstrong. Tumutvalley Roy. 79+62=141. Kelpie.

4th. Doreen Hansen. Jandoree Harly. 80+33= 113.

5th. Nan Lloyd. Whites Ree. 79+LS=79. Kelpie.

6th. Peter Gorman. Badgingarra Pip. 56.

7th. Karyn Buller. Booninning Rosie. 52. Kelpie.

8th. Simon Leaning. Marionvale Mindy. 49. Kelpie.

9th. Blake Robinson. Ed 48. Kelpie X BC.

10th. Jan Cornish. Boylee Biddee. 43.


Open Judged by Grant Cooke.


1st. Dave Lacey. Akoonah Holly. 88+85=173.

2nd. Gordon Curtis. Whites Joe. 81+87=168. Kelpie.

3rd. Peter Gorman. Coshies Dusty. 86+66=152.

4th. Simon Leaning. Marionvale Lad. 61+82=143.

5th. Tony Boyle. Boylee Sugar. 75+40=115.

6th. Karyn Buller. Booninning Maisey. 59+51=110. Kelpie

7th. Frank Sutherland. Rocky Judy. 62+45=107.

8th. Gordon Curtis. Kumbark Tina. 59+45=104. Kelpie

9th. Ivan Solomon. Perengary Sasha. 56+46=102.

10th. Nick Webb. Morillo Cinda. 61+25=86.

11th. Simonn Leaning. Chidlow Floss. 74+ls=74. 

12th. Doreen Hansen. Jandoree Harley. 64+X=64.

=13th. Peter Gorman. Princes Sally. 56+X=56.

=13th. Brad Rose. Blackbrooke Phoebe. 56+X=56.


Ivan Solomon and Rocky Fran.


Simon Leaning and Marionvale Lad, covering  a break at the bridge.


Karyn Buller's Booninning Rosie.


Frank Sutherland, back trialling after almost  a year long break with a back injury.


Glenice Webb's Davids Nina.


Helen Svalbe's Whites Teena


Presentation photos.


Novice placegetters, Ivan Solomon, 3rd, Nigel Armstrong, 2nd, Karyn Buller, 4th and 5th,

Tony Boyle, 1st.


Improver Placegetters. Nan Lloyd, 2nd and 5th, Nigel Armstrong 1st and 3rd, Doreen Hansen, 4th.


Open Placegetters. Dave Lacey, 1st, Peter Gorman 3rd, Tony Boyle, 5th, Simon Leaning, 4th,

Gordon Curtis, 2nd.


Photos and report by Nan Lloyd.








Web Design Magicdust