Albany State Arena November 7th to 10th.                   



The coastal city of Albany was the host for the last trial of the year which was also the State Championship event. Albany is app 420 km south of Perth, a lovely setting for a trial. 

The sheep however, were not lovely and most trialers would say among the toughest they have ever worked. Huge woolly wethers with a fair bit of age about them and an obstinate attitude 

The excess wool around their heads caused many of them to be partially wool blind, and this made them even harder to work as they couldn't see the dog until it was right in front of them. 

Scores were few and pens even fewer. The race and the pen were the hardest obstacles to get. The sheep were quite happy to go onto the bridge but it was extremely difficult to get them off again.

The weather didn’t help, a strong north westerly blew on and off all weekend upsetting the sheep, annoying the handlers, and making it difficult to keep hats on and also to communicate with the dogs. This was exacerbated by the showground noise behind the trial ground.

The grounds and facilities however, were lovely, and it was a relaxing social event with plenty of action enjoyed by those spectating, if not necessarily by those actually on the ground at the time.

Apart from the wind the weather was fairly pleasant despite rain early in the trial.

In the novice there were 44 entries and 10 scores, in the Improver, 47 entries and 13 scores and in the Open 76 entries and 23 scores.  There were only about 14 pens for the weekend without the finals.




Novice judged by Jenny Palm.


1st. Simon Leaning. Chidlow Floss. 83+48=131.

2nd Rick Janitz. Jandoree Sparky. 78+X=78.

3rd. Ken Atherton. Boylee Cass. 71+X=71.

4th. Phil Dorrell. Ramulam Patch. 68+DQ=68.

5th. Simon Leaning. Marionvale Mindy. 59+X. 59 (Kelpie)

6th. Neil Eastough. Grassvally Tinky. 53.

=7th. Colin Cosh. Avalon Icy. 52.

=7th. Doreen Hanson. Jandoree Molly. 52.

9th. Jean Hydleman. Echo Park Cydi. 45.

10th. Jenny Whitelock. Jandoree Kinta. 41.



Improver judged by Jenny Atherton.


1st. Phil Dorrell. Ramulam Patch. 67+70=137.

2nd. Jane Dorrell. Rocky Dusty. 78+49=127.

3rd. Doreen Hanson. Jandoree Molly. 73+50=123.

4th. Glenice Webb. Morillo Doff. 70+40=110.

5th. Andrew Gorton. Just Sam. 73+X=73. (Kelpie X Collie)

6th. Simon Leaning. Jandoree Jess. 58.

7th. Jean Hydleman. Echo Park Cydi.48.

8th. Glenice Webb. Morillo Toby. 46.

9th. Marianne Rogers. Bellview Obie. 45.

10th. Gibb Mcdonald. Boylee Poppy. 43.


Open judged by Ken Atherton.


1st. Peter Gorman. Princes Sally. 73+70=143.

2nd. Dave Lacey. Akoonah Dell. 63+69=132.

3rd. Peter Gorman. Badgingarra Nell. 65+61=126.

4th. Simon Leaning. Fleetfeet Axle. 71+54=125. (Kelpie)

5th. Wayne Hall. Hudsons Tasha. 68+52=120.

6th. Ivan Solomon. Perengary Mac. 82+35=117.

7th. Peter Gorman. Grassvalley Floss. 64+38=102.

8th. Glenice Webb. Morillo Toby. 63+29=92.

9th. Jenny Atherton. Olboa Merle. 63+27=89.

10th. Jenny Atherton. Ramulam Gus. 74+DQ=74.

11th. Wayne Hall Avalon Sox. 65+X=65

12th. Gordon Curtis. Binnaburra Jess. 64+X=64. (Kelpie)


Winner of the Patrons trophy for the highest score by a novice handler in the novice was Phil Dorrell and Ramulam Patch.

Winner of the patrons trophy for the highest score by a novice handler in the improver was Jane Dorrell and Rocky Dusty.


Winner of the aggregate award was Simon Leaning and Chidlow Floss.


Best cast lift and draw novice was won by Jenny Whitelock and Jandoree Kinta.

Best cast lift and draw improver was won by Neil Eastough and Grassvally Tinky.

Best cast lift and draw open was won by Peter Gorman and Princes Sally.


Dog of the year was a three way tie between Grant Cooke with Grassvally Skye and Grassvalley Moss and Peter Gorman and Princes Sally. Winner of the breeder of the dog of the year was Grant Cook and Greg Prince.


A new award was presented by Marianne Rogers in memory of her trial Border Collie Christies Cocoacina.

This award was for the novice handler who has not won any official trial and achieved the most points in dog of the year. This was won by Jenny Whitelock and Jandoree Kinta.


Peter Gorman's Badgingarra Nell.


Glenice Webb's Morillo Toby.


Wayne Hall's Hudsons Tasha.


Simon Leaning and Jandoree Jess.


Jenny Whitelock's Boylee Sugar.


Sugar again, still battling the same sheep.


Colin Cosh's Tui, facing a very determined sheep at the bridge.


Jane Dorrell's Rocky Dusty.


Doreen Hansen and Jandoree Molly.


Gordon Curtis' Binnaburra Tuff.


Frank Sutherlands Rocky Nikki.


Dave Lacey's Akoonah Dell.



And a much more enjoyable form of driving going on at the Albany show, next to the trial ground.















Web Design Magicdust