Albany Arena. 11th-13th November.




Albany is always our final arena trial for the year and although known for having tricky sheep, this year saw some of the most difficult sheep many people had ever worked.

They were big, some were partly wool blind and they did not want to leave their mates in the letouts. A number of people struggled and failed to get them into the Dee and had to retire.

 Those that managed to get them that far had a fair battle holding them from bolting away after they tried to work them back down the ground. Once the sheep got onto the fence near the letouts it was very hard to get them off, and there were a few lost sheep, but crosses were the main form of elimination for people. There were not many pens.

The weather varied from heavy rain on the Friday  to pleasant sunny days on the Sunday. The wind was the worst problem, upsetting the sheep even more and blowing awnings and hats around. The wind dropped on the Sunday and the sheep settled a bit for the finals.


There were 51 entries in the novice and seven scores, 46 in the improver with  eight scores and 70 entries in the open with 20 scores.




Novice, judged by Jane Dorrell.


1st. Ivan Solomon. Perengary Kate. 53+66=119.

2nd. Phill Dorrell. Jandoree Clive. 58+58=116.

3rd. Doreen Hansen. Jandoree Harley. 48+56=104.

4th. Nan Lloyd. Binnaburra Stephie. 47+47=94. Kelpie.

5th. Karyn Buller. Booninning Rosie. 67+SCR=67. Kelpie.

6th. Jenny Whitelock. Jensown Monster. 58+X=58.

7th. Helen Svalbe. Booninning Swag. 46. Kelpie



Improver, judged by Carolyn Bell.


1st. Jane Dorrell. Olboa Spanner. 69+70=139.

2nd. Gordon Curtis. Barkervale Ringo. 65+62=127.  Kelpie.

3rd. Tony Boyle. Boylee Midget. 55+67=122.

4th. Phill Dorrell. Jandoree Clive. 63+55=118.

5th. Jane Dorrell. Rocky Dusty. 54+67=117.

6th. Duncan Anderson. Pages Bouncer. 57+44=101.

7th. Karyn Buller. Booninning Rosie. 48. Kelpie.

8th. Nick Webb. Morillo Roy. 46.


Open, Judged by Colin Cosh.


1st. Grant Cooke. Grassvelley Floss. 82+89=171.

2nd. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Sky. 83+80=163.

3rd. Ivan Solomon. Perengary Sasha. 77+67=144.

4th. Peter Gorman. Badgingarra Jem. 59+75=134.

5th. Dave Lacey. Akoonah Lady. 71+58= 129.

6th. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Moss. 85+41=126.

7th. Simon Leaning. Chidlow Floss. 82+43=125.

8th. Ken Atherton. Ramulam Lad. 73+47=120. Kelpie.

9th. Glenice Webb. Davids Nina. 68+48=116.

10th. Frank Sutherland. Grassvalley Milo. 57+54=111.

11th. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Fly. 75+DQ=75.

12th. Peter Gorman. Princs Sally. 56+DQ=56.


Winner of the dog of the year was Dave Lacy and Akoonah Lady. Second was Grant Cooke and Grassvalley Moss.


Helen Svalbe's Booninning Swag.


Tony Boyles Boylee Pickles.


The wind created some problems.


Jenny Whitelocks Jensown Monster.


Trial Backdrop.


Ivan Solomons Perengary Sasha.









Web Design Magicdust