Binnaburra Yard and Utility. 1st to 3rd of July.



Binnaburra is in WA’s northern wheatbelt, just out of Kellerberrin. This was the final utility event for the year although there are two more yard events coming up later on.


Binnaburra is known for its freezing winter weather, but apart from cold nights and mornings it was unusually mild, enabling some people to strip down to shirtsleeves.

 However Sunday lunchtime changed things, when a bitter cold wind and driving rain made us all pile back into winter clothes.

The sheep, courtesy of Rod Forsyth and family, were quite good outside but for whatever reason a little difficult to get into the obstacles. There were few pens for the weekend. In the yard, they were fairly workable except for the occasional tendency to jump fences and pile up in corners. The truck and the draft caused the most problems as they did not want to flow in out out of these elements.


There were 19 entries in the novice utility, 30 in the novice yard, 28 in the open utility and 40 in the open yard. 





Utility scores were out of 115 and yard scores were out of 65.


Novice Utility, judged by Frank Sutherland.


1st. Rod Forsyth. Barkervale Austin. 86+78=164. Kelpie.

=2nd. Nan Lloyd. Barkervale Oswin. 79+84=163. Kelpie.

=2nd. Rick Janitz. Badgingarra Izzy. 77+86=163. BC.

4th. Tony Boyle. Chillie. 88+74=162. KelpieX.

5th. Hayden Harries. Olboa Knight. 79+78=158. BC.

6th. Rod Forsyth. Binnaburra Reece. 61. Kelpie.

=7th. Nan Lloyd. Nukennellup Dodge. 58. Kelpie.

=7th. Shelby Harries. Boylee Bundy. 58. BC

9th. Rod Forsyth. Barkervale Ringo. 55. Kelpie.

10th. Shelby Harries. Nobleheir Bess. 49. BC





Novice Yard Judged by Frank Sutherland.


1st. Nigel Armstrong. Tumutvalley Jude. 64+58=122. Kelpie.

2nd. Hayden Harries. Olboa Knight. 56+57=113. BC.

3rd. Tony Boyle Chillie. 56+55=111. KelpieX

4th. Rod Forsyth. Barkvale Austin. 56+54=110. Kelpie

=5th. Ken Atherton. Boylee Pick. 56+LS=56. BC.

=5th. Rick Janitz. Badgingarra Izzy. 56+RTD=56. BC.

7th. Tony Boyle. Boylee Major. 53. BC.

=8th. Nan Lloyd. Barkervale Oswin. 51. Kelpie.

=8th. Tony Boyle. Boyle Snowey. 51. Huntaway.

10th. Gordon Curtis. Binnaburra Tyson. 50. Kelpie.


Open Utility, Judged by Ken Atherton.


1st. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Sky. 104+99=203. BC

2nd. Gordon Curtis. Binnaburra Johnny. 107+84=191. Kelpie.

3rd. Ken Atheton. Ramulam Lad. 91.5+92.5=184. Kelpie. Judged by Nigel Armstrong and Hayden Harries.

=4th. Nan Lloyd. Kumbark Rocket. 105+72=177. Kelpie.

=4th. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Moss. 84+93=177. BC.

6th. Hayden Harries. Olboa Ben. 88+82=170. BC.

7th. Ken Atherton.  Ramulam Punch. 77+91=168. Kelpie. Judged by Nigel Armstrong and Hayden Harries.

=8th. Gordon Curtis. Whites Joe. 78+84=162. Kelpie.

=8th. Hayden Harries. Olboa Knight. 71+91=162. BC.

=8th. Rick Janitz. Badgingarra Izzy. 87+75=162. BC.

11th. Nigel Armstrong. Tumutvalley Jude. 70+83=153. Kelpie.

12th. Rod Forsyth. Binnaburra Reece. 79+73=152. Kelpie.


Open yard Judged by Ken Atherton.


1st. Gordon Curtis. Binnaburra Johnnie. 61+59=120. Kelpie.

2nd. Nigel Armtrong. Yarralonga Splinter. 54+62=116. Kelpie

3rd. Hayden Harries. Olboa Ben. 56+55=111. BC.

4th. Nan Lloyd. Kumbark Rocket. 59+51=110. Kelpie.

5th. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Sky. 57+52=109. BC.

=6th. Nigel Armstrong. Yarralonga Fly. 53+55=108. Kelpie.

=6th. Nigel Armstrong Tumutvalley Jude. 56+52=108.

8th. Ken Atherton. Ramulam Punch. 56+51.5=107.5. Kelpie. Judged by Nigel Armstrong and Hayden Harries.

9th. Hayden Harries. Olboa Jude. 52+54=106. BC.

10th. Tanya De Bijl. Marionvale Ita. 53+44=97. Kelpie.

11th. Andrew Gortom. Just Murray. 55+RTD=55. Kelpie.

12th. Rod Forsyth. Binnaburra Reece. 53+LS=53. Kelpie.


Winner of the utility dog of the year was Gordon Curtis’s Binnaburra Johnny. Gordon also won breeder of the utility dog of the year.


Novice handler awards went to Shelby Harries and Jim Harradine.



Tony Boyle and Boylee Major.


Nigel Armstrongs Tumutvalley Roy.


Jim Harradine and Ryans Jemma.


Rick Janitz and Badgingarra Izzy.


Grant Cooke and Grassvalley Moss.


Tanya De Bijl and Marionvale Ita.










Web Design Magicdust