Mayanup Arena April 21-24th.


Mayanup annual arena trial is normally later in the year, but due to the Australian Supreme being held in WA this year, it was moved up.

The trial was run on a supreme course, which gave people a chance to get in some practise before the big event in October.

The sheep were pure Dohnes and they were not easy to handle. The novice sheep were older ewes and they were fast and flighty, making dogs work hard to keep them together. 

The open and improver sheep were younger and a little better, but still needed careful handling as they were inclined to bolt for freedom at every opportunity. The hardest part of the trial was holding them together at the pickup as they had a tendency to head for the fence before the dog could pick them up and sometimes sailed over the top. Those who managed to keep them together found they were not bad through the obstacles though.

The weather was lovely and mild and recent early rain created a nice grassy arena.

There were 40 entries in the novice with 9 scores, 44 in the improver with 16 scores and 61 open entries with 19 scores. There was a 50 point ringoff for the novice and improver.


This was the third trial in 6 weeks that the Mayanup Club have run so it was a great effort for the club members.

All three trials were held at the Athertons property so huge thanks to Ken and Jenny for a mighty effort in supplying sheep and organising the trials. There is always a lot of work involved in running a trial on your own property. Also thanks to Robyn Atherton who travels all the way from Perth to run the canteen, and keep everybody fed.




Novice, judged by Rod Forsyth.


1st. Frank Sutherland. Pendalup Sue. 66+40=106.

2nd. Jenny Whitelock. Jensown Bliss. 84+17=101.

3rd. Jenny Atherton. Ramulam Lassie. 66+X=65. BC Kelpie X.

4th. Jenny Nolan Ryans Jim. 65+X=65.

5th. Nan Lloyd. Barkervale Oswin. 46. Kelpie

6th. Nan Lloyd. Nukennnellup Dodge. 37. Kelpie.

7th. Tanya DeBijl. Boylee Scout. 36.

8th. Helen Svalbe. Booninning Swag. 33. Kelpie.

9th. Jenny Nolan. Nolans Dallas. 27.


Improver, judged by Karyn Buller.


1st. Frank Sutherland. Pendalup Sue. 84+27=111.

2nd. Glenice Webb. Morillo Doff. 55+43=98.

3rd. Nan Lloyd. Binnaburra Stephie. 66+25=91. Kelpie.

4th. Tanya DeBijl. Boylee Scout. 58+31=89.

5th. Jane Dorrell. Cloverlea Cruiser. 73+X=73.

6th. Tony Boyle Boylee Midget. 50.

7th. Jane Dorrell. Rocky Dusty. 47.

8th. Nan Lloyd. Barkervale Oswin. 44. Kelpie.

=9th. Jenny Nolan. Nolans Zara. 41.

=9th. Glenice Webb. Davids Nina. 41

=9th. Nan Lloyd Nukennellup Dodge. 41. Kelpie.


Open, judged by Marianne Rogers.


1st. Dave Lacey. Fleetwood Devil. 75+78=153.

2nd. Dave Lacey. Akoonah Lady. 65+64=129.

3rd. Grant Cooke. Grassvalley Sky. 58+67=125.

4th. Nan Lloyd. Kumbark Rocket. 83+37=120. Kelpie.

5th. Andrew Gorton. Just Sam. 73+38=111. BC Kelpie X.

6th. Ivan Solomon. Perengary Sasha. 40+59=99.

7th. Ivan Solomon. Somerville Tully. 49+49=98.

8th. Ken Atherton. Ramulam Punch. 45+50=93. Kelpie.

9th. Gordon Curtis. Whites Joe. 43+28=71. Kelpie.

10th. Peter Gorman. Pendulp Steel. 65+X=65.

11th. Frant Sutherland. Grassvalley Milo. 43+20=63.

12th. Jane Dorrell. Cloverlea Cruiser. 50+X=50.


Winner of the Bushlands Pet Resort novice handler trophy was Helen Svalbe and Booninning Swag.



Winners of both the novice and the improver, Frank Sutherland and Pendalup Sue.


Jenny Nolan and Ryans Mallee.


Rick Janitz's Jandoree Lexey.


Ken Atherton and Ramulam Punch, whose sheep decided to go over the wing of the bridge instead of through it.


Nick Webb's Morillo Max.


Jane Dorrell and Cloverlea Cruiser.


Tanya DeBijl's Tilly.



Photos and report by Nan Lloyd.

















Web Design Magicdust