DogPro Plus Kendenup Yard and utility. July 19-21st.



It has been about 20 years since the last Yard and Utility trial was run at the Kendenup grounds, so it was great to see a return to the more farm based type of trialling in the area. Kendenup is about 340 Kms south of Perth, in the Great Southern area of WA.

It was a well run trial with an evening BBQ to finish off some great days of competition

The sheep were one year old recently shorn merinos, and were fairly light. For the novice events they were quite good to work, happy enough to enter the obstacles and flowing fairly well through the yard.

For the open however, they were a little more difficult. They were not keen to enter the obstacles outside and were a little difficult to get into the yard from the paddock. 

In the yard there were some jam ups in the drenching race and the draft. The rain did not help, making them more inclined to stick as they went through gateways.


It was a challenging trial, and there was some exciting trialling. 

In the open yard there was a tie for first, so a runoff was required.


The weather was changeable, and it was hard to know what to wear, as it was quite warm when the sun came out then very cold when the clouds came back.

There were some heavy showers Friday Afternoon and also on Sunday as the trial was finishing, which created some discomfort. 





Encourage. Judged by Neil Eastough from Kendenup.


=1st. Jess Mentha. Teddy.

=1st. Jennie Newman. Fleck.




Novice Yard, judged by Karyn Buller from Darkan.

Scores out of 50.


1st. Nan Lloyd. Barkervale Oswin. 47. Kelpie.

2nd. Allan Dunn. Yarralonga Ethol. 45 Kelpie

3rd. Blake Robinson. Nap. 44.Kelpie

4th. Blake Robinson. Ed. 41. Kelpie

=5th. Karyn Buller. Boco Louie. 39. Kelpie

=5th. Jane Dorrell. Perangery Buster. 39 BC.

7th. Karyn Buller. Booninning Rufus. 38 Kelpie.

8th Neil Eastough. Easties Ziggy.36. BC

9th. Jess Mentha. BT. 35. Kelpie.

10th. Jess Mentha. Boots.33 BC



Novice Utility, judged by Karyn Buller from Darkan.

Scores out of 110.


1st. Jane Dorrell. Perangery Buster. 86. BC

2nd. Neil Eastough. Easties Ziggy. 79. BC.

=3rd. Neil Eastough. Linthorpe Freckle. 68. BC

=3rd. Blake Robinson. Nap. 68. Kelpie.

=3rd. Phil Dorrell. Ramulam Tippy. 68. BC.

6th.  Tony Boyle. Boylee Major. 66. BC.

=7th. Ken Atherton. Badgingarra Champ. 60. Kelpie.

=7th. Neil Eastough. Easties Bones. 60. BC.

=9th. Rick Janitz. Badgingarra Izzy. 58. BC.

=9th. Tony Boyle. Boylee Pickles. 58. BC.



Open Utility, judged by Andrew Gorton from Boyup Brook.

Scores out 110.


1st. Nigel Armstrong. Tumutvalley Jude. 92+95=187. Kelpie.

2nd. Ken Atherton. Ramulam Punch. 74+102=176. Kelpie.

3rd. Gordon Curtis. Binnaburra Ben. 72+96=168. Kelpie.

4th. Jane Dorrell. Perangery Buster. 85+77=162. BC.

5th. Gordon Curtis. Whites Joe. 84+66=150. Kelpie.

6th. Nigel Armstrong. Yarralonga Scope. 75+73=148. Kelpie.

7th. Nan Lloyd. Kumbark Rocket. 78+67=145. Kelpie.

8th. Rick Janitz. Badgingarra Izzy. 74+68=142. BC.

9th. Gordon Curtis. Kumbark Indi. 79+62=141. Kelpie.

10th. Rod Forsyth. Barkervale Austin. 68+65=133. Kelpie.

11th. Phil Dorrell. Ramulam Tippy. 76+52=128. BC.

12th. Neil Eastough. Linthorpe Freckles. 77+46=123. BC.



Open Yard, judged by Andrew Gorton from Boyup Brook.

Scores out of 50.


1st. Nan Lloyd. Kumbark Ace. 43+46=89+39=128. Kelpie

2nd. Allan Dunn. Gogetta Thor. 39+50=89+35=124. Kelpie.

=3rd. Nan Lloyd. Kumbark Rocket. 42+44=86. Kelpie.

=3rd. Nigel Armstrong. Tumutvalley Jude. 49+37=86. Kelpie

5th. Blake Robinson. Nap. 41+44=85. Kelpie.

6th. Allan Dunn. Dunns Harley. 40+44=84. Kelpie

7th. Rod Forsyth. Kumbark Todd. 40+35=75. Kelpie.

8th. Karyn Buller. Boco Louie. 44+36=80. Kelpie.

9th. Phill Dorrell Ramulam Tippy. 38+40=78. BC.

10th. Nigel Armstrong. Yarralonga Scope. 41+36=77. Kelpie.

11th. Gordon Curtis. Binnaburra Ben. 41+35=76. Kelpie.

12th. Neil Eastough. Linthorpe Freckles. 46+DQ=46. BC.


Being the final Utility trial for 2019, the Utility Dog Of the Year was decided.

This went to Ken Atherton and Ramulam Punch. Ken also won the Breeder of the Utility Dog of the Year.

Runner up was Gordon Curtis and Whites Joe.


Patrons awards for handlers who are not regular winners in this type of trialling, were also presented by association Patron Tony Boyle.

Novice winners were, Jess Mentha and Blake Robinson.

Open winners were Neil Eastough and Jane Dorrell.


Phill Dorrel's Ramulam Tippy.


Doreen Hansen's Jandoree Valerie.


Jess Mentha's Boots.


Rod Forsyth and Kumbark Todd.



Dogpro winners.

Novice yard. Nan Lloyd 1st, Allan Dunn, 2nd, Blake Robinson 3rd and 4th.


Novice Utility. Jane Dorrell 1st, Phil Dorrell =3rd, Blake Robinson =3rd,

Neil Eastough. =3rd.  


Open Yard. Nigel Armstrong.=3rd, Allan Dunn, 2nd, Nan Lloyd. 1st and =3rd.


Open Utility. Nigel Armstrong. 1st, Gordon Curtis 3rd. Jane Dorrell. 4th.

Absent Ken Atherton 2nd.















Web Design Magicdust